top of page

PHC Audiologist: Hannah Prather, Au.D.



1. Where did you grow up?

I was originally born in Oklahoma City, but moved to the Overland Park, Kansas area when I was ten years old! I’ve been in the Kansas City metro area ever since.



2. Where did you go to school?

I went to Blue Valley North High School then attended Kansas State University for my undergraduate coursework (GO CATS!). I then completed my Doctorate of Audiology at The University of Kansas Medical Center.



3. Why did you want to become an audiologist?

I originally thought I wanted to become a Speech Language Pathologist, but decided to switch gears in my undergraduate program when I began having some problems with my own ears. I failed my high school hearing screening and was referred to an ENT who found that I had a hole in my left ear drum. I underwent surgery to repair this in high school. Later, when I was in my undergraduate coursework, I ruptured the same eardrum again. This was around the same time that I was considering switching to Audiology. I became my own case-study. I underwent another surgery to repair the eardrum. And finally, when I was in my graduate coursework, I had to have one more surgery to repair that same eardrum. This all happened while I was learning about Audiology and how the ears transmit sound. I found it quite a helpful learning tool to use my own hearing health for clinical learning purposes. In doing this, I grew to love the field of Audiology. It is so rewarding to be able to give my patients back the gift of hearing. It is something that will never get old about this job.



4. What is your favorite area of audiology?

I don’t have a specific favorite area. I love that this profession is so diverse. While some of our testing procedures are the same, the individual results are always different. Each patient presents to clinic differently, and it’s fun to figure out just how each person’s auditory system handles sound individually. I also love the rehabilitation side of Audiology when I am able to fit patients with hearing aids. It’s fun to work with all of the new advances in technology while helping my patients hear better.



5. At what office(s) do you work?

I work primarily at our Broadway Otology/ENT practice as well as our Liberty PHC office.



6. Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite television show?

Anything on HGTV. I love DIY projects – my husband and I have done a lot of projects in our home and we love seeing and completing new trends in home décor. If I’m not watching HGTV, you can probably find me watching re-runs of Friends, Grey’s Anatomy, or Schitt’s Creek.




7. If you could bring back any fashion trend, what would it be?

I am a big fan of flare/bell bottom jeans.



8. If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you be?

Probably traveling to literally anywhere. I love travel and exploring new places, cultures, food and sights. My favorite place I’ve ever been was Italy. I would go back in a heartbeat.






bottom of page