top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Lorann Brown, Au.D.


Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Memphis, TN but moved around a lot as a kid since my dad was a Master Chief in the Navy.

Where did you go to school?

I went to high school in Memphis, then to the University of Tennessee for my Bachelor of Science (Go Vols!). After undergrad I pursued my Master’s degree and Doctorate of Audiology at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

Why did you want to become an audiologist?

You know how they say, “When you know you know?” Choosing to become an audiologist was like that for me. When first learning about the field of audiology and the populations I could help, I was so inspired and haven’t looked back since!

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology?

Family, friends, and colleagues are all people who have strongly influenced me in this field. One who stands out in particular is Dr. Kalyn Bradford, who supervised me during my externship year. Dr. Bradford’s steadfast guidance and expertise has helped turn me into the audiologist I am today.

What is your favorite area of audiology?

My favorite area of audiology is hearing aids! I love keeping up with the advances in technology and learning new ways to help my patients hear as well as possible. I also love fixing broken hearing aids, even if it requires a little super glue…

At what office(s) do you work?

I work at the Lakewood and Belton offices.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food?

There’s too many! I love guacamole, jalapeno chips, and my mom’s steak quesadillas. :)

What is one food you would never eat?

Hawaiian pizza... Pineapple is not supposed to be warm!

What’s your favorite travel destination?

There’s a place in the south of France called Èze. It’s the most beautiful view of the Mediterranean, highly recommend going if you get the chance!

What are your hobbies?

I love running and am preparing to run my first marathon next year. Other hobbies I enjoy are camping, baking, and spending time with my husband and our dog, Jersey!

bottom of page