top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Maddy Larson, B.S.


Where did you grow up?

I have lived in Kansas City all my life and love it here!

Where did you go to school? I went to Olathe South High School, Kansas State University for undergrad (Go Cats!), and the University of Kansas Medical Center for grad school.

Why did you want to become an audiologist? I have always loved helping people, so the medical field, where I could see patients and improve the quality of life for people was an easy choice. Communication is a huge part of daily life, and the field of audiology allows me to help others by improving communication.

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology? Dr. Sara Gabriel, an audiologist at Professional Hearing Center, was my supervisor during a clinical rotation as a third year student. She encouraged me to be confident in my skills as an audiologist, while always supporting me and providing many tips and tricks to be a better audiologist.

What is your favorite area of audiology? Hearing aids is one of my favorite areas of audiology because hearing loss can be so detrimental to a person's health, social life, or happiness. Restoring a person’s ability to hear and easily communicate is very rewarding and brings me joy.

At what office(s) do you work? Lakewood, Belton, and MABI. I also get to visit our patients at Foxwood Springs Living Center and Carnegie Village Senior Living Community.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food? Chinese food is my ultimate favorite. I could probably eat it for every meal.

What is one food you would never eat?

Nothing! I’ll try anything once.

What’s your favorite travel destination? The beach! If there is sand and the ocean, I am a happy camper.

What are your hobbies? I love to bake and hang out with friends and family!

bottom of page