top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Abigail Kaplan, Au.D.


Where did you grow up?

I was born and raised in Kansas City. My parents have lived in the same house in Old Leawood since I was three years old!

Where did you go to school? I attended St. James Academy in Lenexa for high school, K-State for undergrad, and KU Med for graduate school.

Why did you want to become an audiologist? I grew up in a family of medical professionals (5 of the 7 of us have worked in healthcare) so I always knew I wanted to work in healthcare. My professors and advisors in the College of Health and Human Sciences at K-State helped lead me toward a major in Communication Sciences and Disorders. And I ultimately fell in love with the field after my first audiology class. Everything just clicked for me, and I feel so lucky to have found a profession that is based around helping people maintain relationships in their communities!

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology? My audiology professor in college, Dr. Garcia, was the first person who asked if I had ever considered a career in audiology. I would probably have a different career if he hadn’t recommended I seriously consider the idea of working in audiology.

What is your favorite area of audiology? Hearing aids and pediatrics. I am all about finding unique solutions for individual challenges and these two areas have taught me what works for one patient does not always work for another. Learning about each patient helps me to fine tune my approach in helping them reach their communication goals.

At what office(s) do you work? Menorah, Belton, and Lakewood.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food? I live down the street from a local farmers’ market, so I love getting fresh fruits and veggies in the summertime! But my absolute weakness is dark chocolate.

What is one food you would never eat?

I’ll try anything, but I just can’t get myself to like pickles or olives.

What’s your favorite travel destination? Traveling was a huge part of my childhood. If I could go back to anywhere I’ve traveled, I would pick Italy again every time. But there’s lots more of the world to see!

What are your hobbies? Outside of work, you can usually find me reading, cooking, taking classes at KC Ballet, spending time with my family, or going for long walks exploring the city.

bottom of page