top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Erika Ward, Au.D.


Where did you grow up?

Overland Park, KS

Where did you go to school?

High School: Shawnee Mission West, Undergrad and Master's Program: KU, Doctorate: Salus University

Why did you want to become an audiologist?

I knew I always wanted to do something in healthcare, but not until I lucked into taking the intro to communication disorders at KU did I know Audiology was going to be my passion.

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology?

My fellow audiologist and friend, Jennifer Schumacher. She has helped me grow into the clinician that I am today with support and knowledge! I've been lucky enough to work alongside her for 16 years!

What is your favorite area of audiology?

Hearing aid fittings, I really enjoy helping people get the joy of communicating with their friends and family back to them!

At what office(s) do you work?

State Line, Legends, and Anderson County Hospital

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food?

Scallops

What is one food you would never eat?

Black licorice

What’s your favorite travel destination?

Anywhere with a beach!

What are your hobbies?

Reading and gardening

bottom of page