top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Julie Bangert, Au.D.


Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Jefferson City, Missouri.

Where did you go to school?

I went to high school at Jefferson City High School. Then I attended Truman State University in Kirksville, Missouri, for my undergraduate education where I received a Bachelor of Science degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders with minors in Psychology and Disability Studies. I attended the University of Kansas Medical School in Kansas City, Kansas, for my Doctorate program in Audiology.

Why did you want to become an audiologist?

I knew in high school that I wanted to do something in health care that involved helping people. I began college thinking I wanted to become a speech-language pathologist. The undergraduate degree for speech-language pathologists and audiologists is the same, so you take classes in both fields of study. The very first day of my introduction to audiology class I had the notion that I may love audiology even more than speech-language pathology. I loved the idea of working with patients and families to make such an impact in the quality of life of the patient and the quality of the communication with their loved ones.

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology?

Dr. Jack Katz has had an enormous influence on me. I studied with him as a student, and he continues to provide inspiration for me in my career. He is the smartest and most compassionate audiologist I know. His life work is to make others’ lives better. He is in his 80s and still learning and practicing to help as many people as he can! He has encouraged me to strive to make a positive impact in others' lives also.

A picture with Dr. Katz at an Auditory Processing conference

What is your favorite area of audiology?

My favorite areas of audiology are hearing aids, auditory processing, and aural rehabilitation. My goal is to maximize what people can do with their hearing and communication abilities. I love seeing the improvement and hearing the stories that hearing devices and/or therapy make in a person’s life.

At what office(s) do you work?

I currently work at the Shawnee Mission, Lakewood, and Legends offices.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food?

Cinnamon rolls :)

What is one food you would never eat?

Never is a strong word, but I really do not appreciate sushi.

What’s your favorite travel destination?

I would love to see the world, but palm trees and a beach are my favorite view.

What are your hobbies?

I like kayaking, hiking, baking, and reading.

bottom of page