top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Hannah Prather, Au.D.


Where did you grow up?

I was born in Oklahoma City and lived in Oklahoma until I was ten years old. I moved to Overland Park, Kansas and lived there until I got married.

Where did you go to school?

I attended Blue Valley North High School, Kansas State University for undergraduate, and The University of Kansas Medical Center for graduate school.

Why did you want to become an audiologist?

Interestingly enough, I ruptured my left eardrum when I was 17 years old. I had a surgery to repair the hole prior to going off to college. During college, I had another surgery on that same ear. When I attended college, I thought I wanted to be a SLP (Speech-Language Pathologist), but realized that I had a deeper interest with the Audiology coursework. The two professions (Audiology & Speech Pathology) are mixed into the same degree and course load in undergraduate school. It wasn't until my first class in Audiology that I realized how much I loved ears and learning about sound. I think that being my own patient and case-study helped influence my decision a little. :-)

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology?

Dr. John Ferraro, who is one of the professors at The University of Kansas Medical Center. He has such a passion for what he teaches, and I felt like he could get anyone excited learning about the basilar & tectorial membranes. Also, Dr. Casey Cordell (who was one of my preceptors when I was in my externship at the Kansas City VA), had a huge impact on me. She is a brilliant audiologist who cares a lot about the outcome of the students that she oversees. She made sure to take the time to explain everything in detail, and there was never a dumb question when working with her.

What is your favorite area of audiology?

I really love working with hearing aids and cochlear implants. Seeing how patients respond and benefit from treatment is always exciting and fun. It's very rewarding.

At what office(s) do you work?

I work at the Liberty office, the Lakewood office, and the Legends office.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food?

Tacos & donuts - but not together :-)

What is one food you would never eat?

Bugs.

What’s your favorite travel destination?

I love to hike in the mountains, and I also enjoy relaxing near a beach. Anywhere new is super fun to me.

What are your hobbies?

I love spending time with my husband and my 4.5 month old daughter. We also have a 3 year old chocolate lab! We love doing DIY Home projects, traveling, and hanging out with our family & friends.

bottom of page