top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Danielle Barton, Au.D.


Where did you grow up? I grew up outside of St. Louis, MO.

Where did you go to school? I graduated from Francis Howell North High School in St. Charles, MO in 2007. From there, I moved to Kirksville, MO to attend Truman State University where I majored in Communication Disorders and Psychology, with a minor in Disability Studies. In 2011, I graduated and went on to Northwestern University in Evanston, IL where I attended an accelerated Doctor of Audiology program. I completed my residency at Ear Care & Skull Base Surgery in Chesterfield, MO prior to graduation in September of 2015. From there, I moved here to KC to begin working here at Professional Hearing Center!

Why did you want to become an audiologist? When I was in college I knew I wanted to work in healthcare, and I wanted something where I could counsel and help people. I had a sorority sister who was on track to become an Audiologist, and she suggested that I take an introduction to Audiology course. The first time we looked at eardrums I was hooked!

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology? My biggest influence in the field of audiology would probably be our fearless leader here at PHC, Dr. Kelly Spiller. I have worked alongside her for 3.5 years now here at PHC and through our non-profit Lend An Ear Foundation, for which we both sit on the board of directors. I have loved having her as a mentor, and now close friend. She started her own practice from nothing, built it up, and later merged with ENT Associates. She is a strong leader, supportive coworker, inspirational mother, and phenomenal friend. I don't know that we would have ever become the strong, collaborative & fantastic group of women we are today without her guidance.

What is your favorite area of audiology? My passion is hearing aids. I love being able to build, modify and program devices for my patients, and I really enjoy getting to work with my patients and their families to repair their communication. Along with being an Audiologist at Professional Hearing Center, I am the President of Lend An Ear Foundation, a non-profit organization that fits donated devices to patients in hospice and palliative care. I love getting to go out into the community and help those in need!

At what office(s) do you work? I practice primarily at our Lakewood location, but I currently see patients out of Cass County Regional Medical Center as well.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food? My grandma's party potatoes have always been one of my favorites, and crab legs.... but maybe not together :P

What is one food you would never eat? I'm not super picky! I can't think of anything I wouldn't try at least once.

What’s your favorite travel destination? In 2009, my best friends got together and backpacked through Europe. We went to Ireland, England, Spain, Italy, Poland and Germany. My absolute favorite was Cinque Terre, Italy. We stayed in Riomaggiore, and it was just amazing! We hiked around and ate hand made pizza every day, who wouldn't love that??

What are your hobbies? When I'm not working, I'm typically trying to entertain my two dogs, Sadie & Remi. I love taking them to the dog park to play, and it is so nice that there are so many around KC! I enjoy being creative, I like to sew, paint, and decorate just about anything I can get my hands on.

bottom of page