top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Sara Gabriel, Au.D.


Where did you grow up?

Iowa! I grew up in Sioux City.

Where did you go to school?

East High ('01), University of Nebraska - Lincoln ('05), University of Kansas ('09)

Why did you want to become an audiologist?

As a speech language pathology major, I took an Intro to Audiology class and fell in love! My mom also had multiple ear surgeries as a child, so maybe a small part of me has always been fascinated by ear things.

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology?

Several people come to mind. The first being Dr. Stephen Boney at UNL, who taught my Intro to Audiology class and was the person who encouraged me to switch majors. Second, Dr. Sarah Hargus Ferguson, who is now at the University of Utah, and taught our graduate speech perception class. I continue to use the lessons from her class on a daily basis when counseling patients. I am also influenced by my colleagues and patients, who continue to show me new strategies and ways of improving patient care.

What is your favorite area of audiology?

I absolutely love amplification and aural rehabilitation. Being able to tangibly improve another person's quality of life is the thing that makes me excited to come into work each day.

At what office(s) do you work?

Lakewood, Lee's Summit Medical Center, Liberty, Carrollton

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food?

So many!! In the summer, I love grilling. Fresh fruit and veggies are a favorite, especially fresh peaches from the local orchards on my drive home from Carrollton.

What is one food you would never eat?

malted milk balls and butterfingers - its a texture thing. What’s your favorite travel destination?

My kids are most excited about the journey - anywhere - as long as we fly!

What are your hobbies?

I love baking! I recently made a wedding cake, ya know, in my spare time!

bottom of page