top of page

Get to Know Your PHC Audiologists - Kelly Spiller, Au.D.

Professional Hearing Center wants to offer you a chance to get to know the audiologists a little better! We are starting a series where each week you will get to learn a little bit more about one of our audiologists. This week we are starting with our fearless leader, Kelly Spiller!

Where did you grow up?

Belton, MO

Where did you go to school?

Archbishop O’Hara High School

Central Missouri State University – BS in Speech Pathology

Central Missouri State University – MS in Audiology

Salus University – Doctorate in Audiology (Au.D.)

Why did you want to become an audiologist?

I have no idea where it came from, I started out headed to college to be a teacher and knew pretty early on that it wasn’t for me – God Bless our TEACHERS! I remember thumbing through the course catalog and stumbled upon Speech Pathology and thought it looked interesting. And it was – but I was introduced to Audiology at that point and just fell in love with the profession. I haven’t regretted a single minute of the steps that it took me to find Audiology, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Who is someone that has had an influence on you in the field of audiology?

So very many people actually, Mrs. Deb Galley was one of my professors and clinical supervisors, and her calm, knowledgeable personality was something I admired. Dr. Barb Burns is another person who helped shape my career, and I learned so much early on that I still apply today. Lastly – Kurt Schaffer and a few others from one of the hearing aid manufacturers. They saw potential in me that I had no idea existed, and Kurt specifically was a huge influence in my life for which I am forever grateful.

What is your favorite area of audiology?

Almost all of it! I like the diagnostic work both on the hearing side and the balance side. I also love the treatment side of hearing and balance disorders.

My very favorite part about audiology is that it is never just about one system. The field of audiology crosses into so many other health areas that my daily life is filled with a mixture of other specialties. We are often involved in changing and saving lives by understanding the vast network of related conditions.

At what office(s) do you work?

I primarily work in Belton currently, although I also spend part of my week traveling to other locations as needed.

Now some fun questions! What’s your favorite food?

Mr. Goodcents 😊

What is one food you would never eat?

Most of the things you see people eating on shows like Survivor!

What’s your favorite travel destination?

Recently it has become Destin, FL.

What are your hobbies?

HA! This one makes me laugh a little bit…As a mother of 3 girls, a step-son, and 2 foster children, I don’t have a lot of spare time for traditional hobbies. I do like to read, I like to run (when my knees let me), and I like spending time with those I love. The best part about that is I’m lucky enough to have a TON of people that I love, so most of my free time is spent meaningfully and intentionally interacting with other people.

bottom of page